CROAGH PATRICK - Irish Championship Round 3 of 7

ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONSHIP

Connaught Championship - Round 1 of 2

	Sun	13th June 1998	Dry/V	Varm		
POS	NUM	NAME	CAT	CLUB	TIME	
1	583	John Lenihan		Riocht	43.48	
2	621	Neil Carty		North Belfast Harriers	45.38	
3	407	Paul Nolan		Crusaders	48.21	
4	622	Deane Fisher		Ballydrain Harriers	49.32	
5	582	Willie Guiney		Desmond Currans A.C.	50.22	
6	625	Leo Murray			50.50	
7	406	Mark Doyle	MJ	Eagle M.R.	51.16	Record
8	585	Micheal McAuliffe	MV	Riocht	52.30	
9	619	David McNeilly	MJ	Ballydrain Harriers	55.23	
10	624	Tommy Joe Whyte		Tuam A.C.	58.23	
11	403	Majella Diskin	FV	Riocht	60.18	
12	424	Joe Lalor	MV	GEN	63.06	
13	428	Vivian O'Gorman	MV		64.06	
14	441	David Cronin	MV		64.41	
15	626	Mike Pardon			67.02	
16	469	Ray Linn	MV		67.47	
17	620	John Byrne			67.55	
18	829	Brian Byrne	MSV	Crusaders	68.36	
19	425	Thomas Galvin			68.38	
20	440	Bernard Collins	MSV	Limerick	69.08	
21	623	Marco Cavalleri			71.43	
22	503	Julie Hilliard	FV	Sportsworld	99.08	
23	510	Gavan		GEN	69.46	Late

Doherty Start

Inter Provincial Championship 3 of 4 runners score

1	Ulster	12pts 2,4,6,9
2	Munster	14pts 1,5,8,20
3	Leinster	22pts 3,7,12,13
4	Connaught	38pts 10,11,17

Entries:, Vivian O'Gorman, Douglas Barry

Finish: David Blennerhasset, Tim Griffin

Results: Douglas Barry

NEPHIN - Connaught Championship Round 2 of 2

	Sun	14th June 1998	Dry - Wet underfoot		
POS	NUM	NAME	CAT	CLUB	TIME
1	583	John Lenihan		Riocht	41.08 Record
2	625	Leo Murray			46.54
3	585	Micheal McAuliffe	MV	Riocht	47.06 Record
4	582	Willie Guiney		Desmond Currans A.C.	48.47
5	624	Tommy Joe Whyte		Tuam A.C.	53.52
6	403	Majella Diskin	FV	Riocht	55.20 Record
7	424	Joe Lalor	MV	GEN	59.13
8	428	Vivian O'Gorman	MV		62.41
9	441	David Cronin	MV		64.43
10	626	Mike Pardon			65.11
11	829	Brian Byrne	MSV	Crusaders	75.15
12	503	Julie Hilliard	FV	Sportsworld	95.09

Connaught Championship Final Positions

1	John Lenihan	2	1,1
2	Leo Murray	8	6,2
3	Willie Guiney	9	5,4

4	Micheal McAuliffe	11	8,3
5	Tommy Joe Whyte	15	10,5
6	Majella Diskin	17	11,6
7	Joe Lalor	19	12,7
8	Vivian O'Gorman	21	13,8
9	David Cronin	22	14,9
10	Mike Pardon	25	15,10
11	Brian Byrne	29	18,11
12	Julie Hilliard	34	22,12

Entries: Vivian O'Gorman, Douglas Barry

Finish: David Blennerhasset, Tim Griffin

Results: Douglas Barry

CONNAUGHT REPORT by Douglas Barry

John Lenihan (Riocht) won Saturday's **All Ireland Championship** on **Croagh Patrick**. The former World Champion beat Northern Ireland international Neil Carty by just under 2 minutes, missing his own record by only 25 seconds. Paul Nolan (Crusaders) who suffered badly on the climb up the Reek descended brilliantly from the summit chapel to catch and pass Northern Ireland's Deane Fisher for third.

The Kerryman was pleased with the win on the tough rocky course but was disappointed not to have nudged closer to the phenomenal record of 43 minutes 23 seconds he set last year for the 7.7 kilometre course. "It's early enough in the season and I hope to be on top form in August when the selection race for the Worlds is held" the former World Champion commented.

Liscarney runner **Majella Diskin** easily won the women's race taking the All Ireland title for the second year in a row. The Mayo athlete was also a half minute outside her record of 59 minutes 44 seconds. Julie Hilliard (Sportsworld) and Mike McAuliffe (Riocht) took the veteran's titles, while an astonishing run by Dublin junior Mark Doyle saw him slice 2 minutes off junior international Kieran Lynch's record.

The race was also the annual Inter Provincial Championship which rotates thorough the four provinces of Ireland. The first three runners from each province score and as usual it proved a close run thing. Neil Carty and his team proved best on the day grabbing the Championship by just 2 points from the Munster team spearheaded by John Lenihan.

Croagh Patrick was also the first race in the two race Connaught Mountain Running Championship held over two days with the second round on Nephin near Crossmolina. The indomitable Lenihan followed up on Sunday with a stunning run on the formidable 2,646 foot mountain, lowering the record to 41 minutes 8 seconds and clinching this championship as well. However, due to blistering, neither Carty or Nolan could start and the minor placings went to Donegal's Leo Murray and Mike McAuliffe after a see saw battle on the heathery slopes.